Fender Ultimate Chorus with broken chorus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender Ultimate Chorus with broken chorus

I just bought a Fender Ultimate Chorus. It is about 12 or 13 years old. Everything works fine on it except for the chorus. The little light that blinks on the front panel indicating the depth and rate of the chorus blinks on and of at the proper rate, and changes colors when the depth and rate pots are turned, but it makes no difference to the sound.

I had a few dirty pots when I got it, and I got a look at the top of the board. Nothing obviously smoked on it, but I haven’t looked at the bottom of the board. I have some electronics knowledge, had a few classes, and built a few things, but I don’t know how to use a scope. I have got a meter, and could make some repairs if I knew what I needed to do.

Anyway, any help or advice would be appreciated.
    Last edited by Notafraid; 01-10-2008, 03:48 AM.

I think those are true stereo output and use only one of the speakers for the delay/chorus effect, leaving the other as dry signal only. So if one of the speakers is bad or disconnected the chorus effect might be non-existant. Try unplugging first one then the other to see if you still get any sound at all. According to the schematic (available at: http://www.fender.com/support/amplifier_schematics.php) it looks like the right speaker is in charge of the chorus effect.

Also the stereo effects loop contains complex normalling switching in the send & return jacks which could have dirty/oxidized contacts. Try simply plugging a cord in & out a few times to work the switching contacts. Or try a TRS (stereo) patch cord from send to return.

This is assuming you have the earlier model, rather than the Ultimate Chorus DSP.

Good luck!

Comment

Mark,