Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brand New Crate V18 Tube - Loud Hum When Plugged In, No Guitar Sound!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brand New Crate V18 Tube - Loud Hum When Plugged In, No Guitar Sound!

I just got my brand new Crate V18-112 amp in today, took it out of the box, plugged it in and let it warm up in anticipation... and I get nothing but a loud hum.

Does anyone have any thoughts on why this could be on a brand spanking new amp? I've tried plugging in two different guitars with two different cables, as well as plugging the amp into multiple outlets... still the same result. When the amp is turned on and in standby mode, everything seems as it should... but when I flip the standby on, the loud hum increases when I have the guitar plugged in and I turn up the gain/level. It only produces this loud hum when a cable is plugged into the input.

Help! I'm a complete newbie when it comes to amps, but am pretty technology savvy. I really don't want to send it back to where I bought it (bought it online), but if I have no choice then thats that. I'm hoping its something simple that will allow me to avoid that outcome. Any help is much appreciated!

"It only produces this loud hum when a cable is plugged into the input."

The problem is likely in the early preamp stages. The first thing to try is another preamp tube. After that you'd need to crack it open. And I wouldn't do that with an "out of the box amp". I'd send it back.

Chuck
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

I don't know where you are, but there are Crate service centers scattered all over the country.