Guitar Amp to Guitar Amp Conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guitar Amp to Guitar Amp Conversion

Hi. New here. I'm a circuit designer, and I've been studying tube amps. I grok how they work, and have tweaked a few. I'm finishing Kevin O'Connor's TUT series, and Richard Kuehnel's books. I'm getting strong on the electronic theory, but I anticipate much experimentation to master how the circuits/tubes sound.

I find I'm more interested in working on the tone in my rig than the tone in my fingers. I like guitars with air in them, and jazzy or bluesy tones, but I like torturing a 100W EL34 based half-stack as much as the next real man. I find that EL84s are annoying, EL34s are only useable somewhere above 100dB, 6L6s are very nice, and 6V6s sound like angels (but I still respect you. It's just me). Power stage distortion is much sexier than anything you could do with 1.5 12AX7s.

Anyway, I note that home-built amps almost always look like cheese and feature an EL84 or something running SE class A with 2 knobs max, putting out enough wattage to really annoy your wife, but not enough to play over drums. I also note that buying power and output transformers, a chassis, speaker, reverb tank, knobs, case, etc. makes a mediocre kit as expensive as some of the nicer amps already available.

So instead of trying to make a kilowatt amp out of an arc welder, I figure why not make a guitar amp out of a guitar amp? To this purpose, I have assembled a disturbingly large collection of Carvin X-Series amps, all vintages and configurations. These amps don't suck, and you can get them for $200-$450. I got a faux-Tolex XV-212, no speakers or tubes, minty, with cover, for $199 with free shipping a few days ago. The little X30s and X60s are charming, the heads are loud, and they all have a solid-state rectified clean channel that's just lovely. The XT and XV 112s might as well be Boogies for my purposes. Other features include windings for a +/- 15V supply.