single coil magnets in a HB?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• single coil magnets in a HB?

my guitar currently has 1 humbucker and two single coil pickups, i want to modify it so that theyre are two humbuckers, so my question is, can i use the polepieces from the two single coil pickups or do i have to use a bar magnet on the bottom, i am not very farmilliar with the workings of pickups as i am still new to this.... thanks

I am new at this thing but technically, I believe you can use the magnets from your two single coil pickups to make a humbucking pickup. BTW, I am assuming you are referring to rod alnico magnets.

The thing is, the polarity of one coil should be south while the other should be north. Hope I am right and am of some help to you.

Comment

yes i was talking about the polepiece magnets... and for the polarity, wouldnt i be able to just flipe one set of magnets over so say if the south pole was on the bottom i could just flip them over so the south pole would be on top correct? thanks for the help i hope it turns out

Comment

Originally posted by franklin01 View Post
        yes i was talking about the polepiece magnets... and for the polarity, wouldnt i be able to just flipe one set of magnets over so say if the south pole was on the bottom i could just flip them over so the south pole would be on top correct? thanks for the help i hope it turns out
        Hi,
        You might find that they're already flipped - depending upon the wiring of your guitar though you'll need a compass or small neo magnet to check this. Check if your switching arrangement has a position which lets you select the two single coils in a humbucking arrangement.

If not then you may have to flip the magnets (best pressed out with something like a drill press and a 3mm metal pin) and reverse the wiring to one pickup then connect in series or parallel.

S.

Comment