7199 as Phase Inverter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 7199 as Phase Inverter

Hi everyone, sorry in advance if this question doesn't make sense, I'm pretty new to digging around amps. But I love it!

I have a question about soon-to-be-in-my-possession Ampeg Gemini VI amplifier. It has a 7199 tube used as its phase inverter, and since that tube has a pentode + a triode in it, I'm kind of wondering how that works.

The source of my confusion is the following: I have heard that for your normal 12AX7-type dual triode phase inverter, you want to use a tube that is well balanced, with the two halves of the tube as close as possible. Since the two halves of the 7199 are so different, how does that work? Looking at the schematic, it looks like part of the pentode does the PI work, then the triode does it's thing..... ?

Here is the schematic: http://members.aol.com/portaflex/schems/gs-15-r.gif

The 7199 is typically used in what is called a split load or concertina configuration. The pentode acts as a voltage amplifier and the triode performs the phase inverter duty but does not provide voltage gain except that it has two outputs that are out of phase. The RCA Tube Manual (60's editions) has examples in the back. The Fender Deluxe 5E3 is an example of this configuration but it uses a 12AX7.
    WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
    REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment

The way the schematic has been drawn makes things a bit confusing. Here, the pentode is a recovery gain stage after the tonestack while the triode is being used as a cathodyne (split-load) phase inverter.

How can you tell? Look backwards from the output tubes, and find the coupling caps to the previous stage. Here they are attached to the plate and cathode of a single triode, which says cathodyne (to me, anyway).

Comment