Original Broadcaster pickup specifications

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Original Broadcaster pickup specifications

I am currently getting the items together to start winding pickups. I would like my first set to be exactly like the pickups offered in the original Fender Broadcasters. Does anybody know the specifications for these pickups. I do know they used 43 AWG wire and were wound hotter than the later Tele pickups. However, I am trying to find out other specifics such as:

Magnet type
    Winding direction
    Polarity
    Magnet height
    Average number of turns
    Type of wire insulation (Formvar, enamel, or ???)
    etc...

Any other specifics would be greatly appreciated as well.

I am interested in winding both bridge and neck pickups.

Please help. I am just getting started with this and need all the help I can get.

Thanks,

Todd

info

best thing to do is buy the BlackGuard tele book from the Lutherie books online, expensive at $85 but it has alot of good info in it......
    http://www.SDpickups.com
    Stephens Design Pickups

Comment

Thanks Possum. I just checked out the blackguard book online and it definitely looks like it contains a lot of good info. I will definitely have to start saving my pennies for it. Wait a minute...I have a birthday coming up soon. I guess I know what I'll be asking for. I take it you already own this book. Correct? Can you tell me for sure it if has the specifics I'm looking for? I have no problem purchasing the book since it looks like it would definitely be worth the money and it helps support a good cause as well. I would just hate to shell out all the money and still have many specific questions afterward.

Thanks for your help,

Todd

Comment