Can I bias my 6505+ / 5150-II?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I bias my 6505+ / 5150-II?

Not can it be biased.... can I bias it? I'm kinda new to this whole thing. It has bias ports that are bias voltage, not mA. And it has a bias pot. I've done research on biasing and I can't find any details about biasing this specific amp, or any amp that has a bias port that reads "bias voltage".

From what I hear.... these amps are biased very cold stock so that you can just throw in any tube, without having to rebias. So maybe I don't have to bias ( I just put a new set of matched power tubes in and it does sound very good, better than before, with a nice blue glow to the tubes) Also I hear that the bias pot does not have a very large sweep, so even at the highest setting, it's too low to avoid crossover distortion.

So what I'd like to do is bias the amp to the best setting using the controls I have available (no bias mod... and yes I know all about it). So even though I may not get it to the optimum setting... it will still be as close to it as I can get it with a stock unit.
    So how do I use a multimeter and the bias ports and pot to get a good setting? And which way do I turn the bias pot to increase the mA to the tubes (make it warmer)?

My schematic:
    http://www.schematicheaven.com/newam...ey_5150-II.pdf
    Last edited by taper420; 09-10-2008, 02:44 PM.

Your link is dead.

I've heard of amps where the bias jack measures the grid voltage on the power tubes, which isn't very useful :-( I think the 6505+ may be one of these. You can't measure the actual bias current without busting the amp open and clipping a meter to the guts.

If you don't want to do that, you can bias by the ear, eye and nose method. It's a little ghetto, but it kind of works. Just crank the bias hotter until the tone stops improving, or until the plates start glowing, or until you smell burning: whichever happens first. Then back it off a little.