Hartke 1400 power transformer dead?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hartke 1400 power transformer dead?

Hi, first this is my first post here. I have been cruising the site for a few days and am impressed with how helpful you all are! I can see that most folks are respectful and kind on this forum, unfortunately that is not very common elsewhere.

When it comes to electronic repairs, I am a novice at best. I have repaired a number of things, including amps, by reflowing solder and replacing pots or jacks but that about sums up my success stories.

I recently came across a hartke 1400 and I think the Power transformer is dead. It kept blowing fuses, (until I learned on here the wonders of a light bulb limiter). I have disconnected the wires from the PT to the main board and there is still a short (light bulb stays on). I also bypassed the power switch to see if it was the issue, no change.

Is there anything else I can do to check the PT? Here is a picture of it https://photos.app.goo.gl/2EVNcVgC9kaggik28

As far as schematics, I found one on here but I don't think it's correct, it shows six wires (2x3) coming off the PT but mine has eight (2x4). https://music-electronics-forum.com/...4&d=1475880289 One possible reason is mine just says "1400" on the front, not "HA1400“ like some other ones I have seen (and the schematic). Maybe mine is an earlier model?
    Last edited by Chadface; 05-31-2020, 09:39 PM.

HA area later series. My records show a plain old 1400, but my files are in storage.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

What is that, a double toroidal transformer?
      Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200531_130034.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	168.3 KB
ID:	857879

Comment

The core is not circular, it is shaped more like a racetrack. Windings aren't spread all way around.
        Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment