Shure vintage wireless guitar, died ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shure vintage wireless guitar, died ?

For about 20 years I have had this Shure wireless system that I kept in a bag with cables, placed between the sofa and the radiator.

https://images.reverb.com/image/uplo...x6bvrtpang.jpg

After about 5 years of not using it, it suddenly stops working, both the transmitter and the receiver are switched on normally but the guitar signal does not reach the receiver and perhaps it does not even start from the transmitter. I disassembled both but found no loose wires and no burn marks.

With this little oscilloscope (i am not an expert)

http://english.instrustar.com/produc...l.asp?nid=1556

i just tried to put the probe on the transmitter antenna solder but playing the guitar i don't see any variation in the oscilloscope graph. How do I know if the transmitter or receiver is faulty ?

I don't know, could the heat of the radiators in recent years have created some problems ?

Thanks for all !

With the transmitter turned on, look for a high frequency carrier waveform from the antenna. Don't overlook the basics either - faulty on-off switch (if it has one). Be absolutely sure that the cable from the guitar jack to the belt pack is 100% connected and in good condition. Use that as a starting point.

Comment

Transmitter works at what 180MHz? 400MHz? And your scope has how much bandwidth? Likely even if the scope would react it would be tiny. loop a few feet of wire and wrap around the transmitter, then connect your scope probe to that wire. It is an antenna now. Turn your scope up to the highest sensitivity and speed up the trace. Now flip the transmitter off and on. DO you see any corresponding growth in the scope trace? That is about all you can expect. Also these work on FM, so I doubt you'd be able to see the audio on it on a scope.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment