Hartke 3500-transistors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hartke 3500-transistors

I am looking at this amp to find noise problems (Crackling,hissing),I replaced the 12AX tube and it seems noise free.I have been using an IR temp sensor lately and probed around and found two transistors,The heatsink of one of them looks discolored due to heat.The discolored one is numbered(GS-GL7818-K30ROK) the other is(M-7918CT-QLL119). They are side by side and next to 2-50/50v caps.The GS showed a temp of 133 degrees farenheit,the other is 88.I am not good with SS but this seems wrong.

From the base numbers embedded in the part numbers (7818, 7918) I would guess you are looking at the positive (7818) and negative (7918) voltage regulators for the chip stuff in the amp.

Find a handy dual opamp (4558, TL072, LF353, etc) and check to see if you get 18VDC at pins 4 (negative) and 8 (positive) referenced to ground.

Sometimes the positive regulator gets heavier use than the negative one, as it may be used to drive LED's and stuff so would run a bit hotter. I think that 133F (53C) is still well within operational limits.

Of course cooler is usually better for electronics. Manufacturers have a nasty habit of using the minimum heatsinking they can get away with. Make sure it is making good contact with the heatsink, and if it is insulated with a "sil-pad" rubbery insulator consider replacing that with mica & thermal compound.

Good luck!

Comment

I agree, those are three leg voltage regulator ICs and as part of their job, they get hot. If you think they are at fault, scope their output pins and look for glitches.

Crackling and hisses sounds more like a bad op amp to me anyway.