Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to winding pickups. Some questions to begin with

Hello falks,
    i'm a newbie in that new hobby, and i bought humbucker kits (paf style) in UK and started to wind 2 bobbins.
    I use 42 awg wire and i only was able to put 4250 turns only for a 3,5K DC resistance. I really don't anderstand how is it possible to have a 16k resistance out of a humbucker. Only reducing wire size?

But my main issue is that the slugs don't stay in the bobbin, the hole is too big, i should use a press, and it's loose, i don't know what to do. I've asked the seller, but got no answer yet.

Any idea ?

Original Gibson PAFs had around 5000 turns per coil resulting about 4k DCR, using 42 awg wire. You might try to increase winding tension and produce a neater (less scatter) wind. But a 16k humbucker would need a thinner wire.

Regarding the slug issue, what is the exact diameter of the slugs and the bobbin holes?
    - Own Opinions Only -

Comment

If it's a Chinese pickup kit, often the parts don't fit right. I've had bobbin hold down screws that were 3 sizes too small. Wouldn't the magnet hold the slugs in, until you crazy glue them in anyway.

Comment

Originally posted by Helmholtz View Post
        Original Gibson PAFs had around 5000 turns per coil resulting about 4k DCR, using 42 awg wire. You might try to increase winding tension and produce a neater (less scatter) wind. But a 16k humbucker would need a thinner wire.

Regarding the slug issue, what is the exact diameter of the slugs and the bobbin holes?
        The hole seems to be 5 mm and the slugs are 4.8 mm, they should be 5 mm.

Comment

Originally posted by mozz View Post
          If it's a Chinese pickup kit, often the parts don't fit right. I've had bobbin hold down screws that were 3 sizes too small. Wouldn't the magnet hold the slugs in, until you crazy glue them in anyway.