Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey Rockmaster preamp power transformer

Hi guys,

I have a Peavey Rockmaster rack tube preamp.

The power transformer burned long ago and i had it rewired without specs - the guy just counted the turns and made the same amount of turns with a new wire.
    The result was a transformer with secondaries 240V and 22-0-22V
    So, the preamp was up and running again, but just for about an hour before it burned again - overheated.
    I assumed that the rewired transformer didn't have the exact specs as the original, but i couldn't find info anywhere, so i just left it isle for years.

Now, i got interest in learning about tubes and tube preamps and I came back to that Rockmaster, wishing to bring it back to life.
    I just could not understand how 22-0-22V can work with the filaments and keep wondering what might be the right specs for that transformer.
    I just knew about the typical 6.3V AC filaments or 12.6V DC filaments, but nothing about 22V..
    I found some clues by Enzo, who suggested that the tubes (4) are running in series/parallel and indeed need 24V DC supply and the filaments supply was used for the relays as well.

Firstly, i contacted the transformer manufacturer - "Basler Electric Co" with the part number 705-29303 (that's the 220V mains version), but they said only Peavey can give me the specs (it's their property).
    So, i contacted Peavey with the same question, but they never replied.

Finally, i hope you guys can help me get as close as possible to the original transformer specs.

Click image for larger version

Name:	rockmaster_91.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	423.1 KB
ID:	874133Click image for larger version

Name:	rockmaster_guts.jpg
Size:	847.6 KB
ID:	874134Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_54021.jpg
Size:	341.2 KB
ID:	874135

If you call Peavey tech support during their business hours they will usually give you whatever info they have.

Comment

Yes, CALL Peavey support.