Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rescue a TS-5

Hi,

I am fairly new to FX building and new to this board. I have modified some FX in the past, and built the Fulltone A/B box, and I have built and modified a few tube amplifiers in the past. My current diversion is to try to save a TS-5 Soundtank Tube Screamer that has a bad switch and either a bad output jack or some other source of buzziness.

I see a few electrolytic caps on the board that I bet need to be replaced, and could be the cause of the buzz. I have also read the article on tube screamers on the web, and I plan to do the 808 mods and upgrade all the tantalum and electrolytic caps to polyester film.

My question is, do you think there's a good chance that replacing those parts and dropping the FX board into a new enclosure with true bypass switching and off-board input and output jacks will fix my hum, or is there some obvious source of buzzing that I, as a noob, am missing?

Thanks in advance for your advice. I am thinking of building this into an enclosure with a rangemaster clone, with separate switches and LEDs, etc., but I want to get this thing sounding right first.

First off, make sure it's not your power supply that's causing the buzzing. Try powering it up with a battery if you don't have a clean PS at hand.
    The Ibanez "5" series pedals are notorious for unreliable switches and jacks. So a rehousing is an excellent idea since those pedals are quite good sound wise.
    Keep in mind that if you're TBing this pedals that there are a couple of buffers that won't be needed and removing them will make your whole signal chain cleaner. Same can be said about the FET switching, you'll have to remove it from the line.
    I bet after you get a lot of this circuitry out of the way your pedal will be much cleaner and quieter sounding.