Help with El84 SE design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with El84 SE design

I am pretty new to building tube amps. I built a small 60fx5 hifi amp last year and I would like to build a SE low power guitar amp this year. I have the transformers from an old Hoffman console that should work great but I have some concerns about my design. I spent a lot of time looking at EL84 schematics and took what I thought were the best but easiest pieces from each and combined them. I would like to ask the gurus if there are huge flaws or improvements I should make.

There are a few areas that I am concerned about. One, I’m only using ½ of the second 12AX7 for the tone control. I didn’t see any reason that I needed it since the first gain stage is using the first 12AX7 and I would like to experiment a bit with the gain control. Second, the tone control seems very basic and concerns me a bit. Third, the transformer has a 5V secondary that I don’t really need. What do I do with it?

Thanks in advance.

Scott
    Attached Files

Originally posted by then1xon5 View Post
    There are a few areas that I am concerned about. One, I’m only using ½ of the second 12AX7 for the tone control. I didn’t see any reason that I needed it since the first gain stage is using the first 12AX7 and I would like to experiment a bit with the gain control. Second, the tone control seems very basic and concerns me a bit. Third, the transformer has a 5V secondary that I don’t really need. What do I do with it?

Thanks in advance.

Scott
    only a few things that I can see. Tell you want I would do with this, if you really wanted to use everything.

1. Use the remaining 12ax7 gain stage as a cathode follower to drive your tone stack.

2. Use the 5 v secondary for a rectifier tube. Then make it into a full wave bridge using the tube and diodes. This will get you full voltage for the amp, and the benefit of a slow HV power up ramp.