Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knob on top of power transformer

Hi,
    This is my first time on a forum, and I am the first to say I know little about electronics. So please go easy on me. Thanks.
    I just bought a vintage audio tube amp on EBay, probably from the 1950s or 60s. It has 2 6L6 power tubes, a 5Y3 rectifier tube, and 3 pre-amp tubes. It doesn't have a brand name on it, just homemade labels for the volume, bass and treble controls. It has a hefty power transformer that is 3.75" x 3" x 2.5 high" for the steel, plus about 2" above that which contains a cover and an adjustment knob. The only number I can find on the transformer is C-94230Z. The knob has several positions numbered 1 - 8.
    What does this knob control? Voltage? Does it select different windings? How do I know which position to use?
    Will it damage the transformer or amp if I have it in the wrong position? Thanks.

Do you know the difference between power transformer and output transformer? Are you sure which one this is? A tube amp will have both. Can you post some photos?

As a rule I would not expect switches on transformers, but potentially an output transformer could have impedance selector switch. Power transformer could have a mains voltage selector.

Was this amp intended for something other than guitar? Does it look like an old "PA" amplifier?
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Transformer with knob on top - here is a photo

Click image for larger version

Name:	6L6 with knob on transformer.bmp
Views:	1
Size:	387.9 KB
ID:	812799
      Click image for larger version

Name:	6L6 bottom view.bmp
Views:	1
Size:	337.6 KB
ID:	812800
      Hi,
      Thanks for responding. Here are photos of the transformer and of the bottom of the amp.
      Take care!

Comment