Centaur Keyboard Amp Needs Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Centaur Keyboard Amp Needs Help!

Hi. I am a pro keyboard player and my ole trusty Centaur KB amp has failed. It has a 12" PS Carvin speaker and a Motorola 1" tweeter and is solid state. The amp hums, buzzes, static, you name it. I would like to try and troubleshoot it myself and even restore and overhaul it. It's too old to send to the shop and pay hundreds of dollars to fix. I took out the 12 and tweeter and they were hooked up to the wires ok. Didn't see or smell any burnt caps, resisters, etc. All solder connections seem ok/

Where do I start as a beginner? What tools do I need and books? Also, I want to learn as a hobby, troubleshoot and work on all my keyboards, pedals, everything that is out of warranty. I want to build some kits like a preamp, but want to start at the basics.

Yesterday I went to Frys and bought a ECG 25 watt soldering iron, an EDSYN universal, holder some regular rolled up solder, some 9 volt batteries. I bought a portable multimeter at Radio Shack that was about $30. Yeah I know, whoo, big purchase, heheh. Anyway...

Frys has oscilloscopes from $200 up to $4000, yikes. They also had power supplies and other interesting expensive electronic toys.

Anyway, I'm the grasshopper now, so I'm hoping a master here will offer me some advice and help send me what direction to go and what kind of gear do I need. I also got a PDF of Jack Darr's Amp book, but it mainly involves tube amp repairs which is good.

If I am in the wrong forum here, this is my first post since I joined this morning and glad I found it. So much good info and pros here.

Thanks for your help and response. katt