Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Peavey Delta Blues - No Sound - All Tubes Glow - Powered "On", Made a "Hum", and died

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey Delta Blues - No Sound - All Tubes Glow - Powered "On", Made a "Hum", and died

Ok Guys, I need some help. I have read the forums. Searched for all combinations of "Peavey", "Delta Blues", "No Sound", "Problems", "hum", and even tried the "Classic 30". I may have overlooked the answer but it was not due to a lack of searching.

I have an OLD Delta Blues. It's my main amp. I have a Classic 30 as a backup and stereo sidekick to the DB. I got it new the first year it was produced. I gig with it, usit in the studio, and play it daily. It has been a TRUE work horse. In all the years, it has never let me down. I have never replaced the tubes either. (I know i will catch heat for that from the board. )

I am a fair electronics trouble shooter. I am NOT an engineer or technician.

With all that said, here is my problem.

I turned the amp on last night. As soon as I hit the switch, it started to hum. It was a moderate volume - pitch was maybe an "A". It was not a squeal. It lasted about 5-10 seconds. Then, nothing. No tone, static or hiss. Both channels act the same. Crank normal to 12 - quiet. Crank Pre and Post to 12 at the same time - quiet. All the tubes glow just as they always have. The power light is lit.

This was the first "power on" after getting home from a gig. I did have some effects in front of the amp and in the effects loop. But, that is normal for me.

--

I have not tried inserting into the input from the effects loop yet. I just saw that this morning and will give it a try when i get home.

--

Blessings,
    Stephen H. King
    stephen@off61.com