Learning to repair my gear...Squier 15G Solid State Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning to repair my gear...Squier 15G Solid State Help

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Been lurking for about a month now and have learned a lot already. I've just been intimidated by all of the knowledge that is around, but now I got to the point where I had to register and ask a question. I'm new to this whole thing, but have a bit of electronics theory from some uni physics classes, and a little hands on experience from working on things in the past month. Nothing too serious, but better than no previous knowledge.

Anyways, I'd like to be able to work on my own gear, and I decided to learn how to do so on a little practice amp that died on me a few years ago. This way it won't matter if I screw it up because it's not really needed...but it'd give me a good starting point for the basics.

So my little Squier 15G amp would turn on, the speakers would hum, but no guitar sound. If I turn up the volume knob or either of the gain knobs (there are 2 of them, and it's a single channel amp) the hum gets louder. However, it doesn't even hear the sound of the guitar jack being plugged in/out.

I opened it up and found both filter caps were blown...leaking fluid onto the board. So I took them out, cleaned the board with some isopropanol to get the residue off, and put some new filter caps in (same specs). I also noticed a bit of carbon trace around the diodes which are beside the filter caps, but I tested across this trace and there wasn't a 0ohm reading for resistance, so assuming this won't short circuit the setup. (Please if I'm taking readings wrong or there's something obvious I should do tell me, assume I know nothing). I don't have a schematic for the amp, sorry. But if anyone does please post it!