Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best 5E3 layout

Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the best (or preferred and problem free) layout is for the 5E3? This will be my first build and I cannot afford a kit so I will be sourcing the parts myself, little by little. I've found layouts from Ceriatone, Weber, SD Vintage, and dockery amps, and of course Hoffman. The Hoffman layout looks more like a schematic to me as I'm a newbie. I've heard a lot of great things about Mission amps but unfortunately I can't find that layout. Any help anyone could give me is appreciated. I'm really anxious (though cautious) to get started as I've never owned or played thru a tube amp before. Thanks.

Tony
    Lexington, SC

What kind of tone are you expecting from your amp? Keep in mind that a 5e3 does not have a lot of clean headroom so you wont get glassy Fender clean tones.

The saturated sound of a 5e3 is the magic that has made it a staple of boutique builders and owners.

The layouts are all very simlilar and you will have to put in some time to get it tweeked out. But worry not, as long as you post good solid questions here, you will receive a LOT of help.

If I were to buy a kit, I'd get a Mission due to Bruces reputation in the 5e3 community. If you are concerened with price, Weber is a good place to save as much as possible. Just an opinion.

Speaking of saving money - At the end of the day you will speand nearly as much sourcing parts individually as you would on a kit. And you wont forget anything with a kit. Food for thought.

Good luck and most of all -Be very careful as tube amps have lethal voltages floating around.

Mike

Comment

As far as tone goes, I've listened to the 5E3 on youtube but I know that I'm not hearing it's "true" tone. I have a strat and plan on having a tele soon. I'd like a clean bluesy tone. I'v debated between doing a 5E3 and a 5F1 or 5F2A. I just figured that a 5E3 isn't much more difficult and is more versatile.