Extech readings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extech readings

Can someone who knows what they are doing (not me in other words!) answer this for me? If you took a reading w/ an extech lcr meter (series, 120Hz,) and the pickup was 8.12 K and 4.84 H, then you make a simple change (not coil windings) and it reads 8.33K and 5.625 H, how would you *in general* expect the sound to be affected? Or not at all? Im just learning here so maybe it's a silly question!

I'm far from someone who know's what they're doing, but my guess is that the frequency response would change. I don't know enough about pickups to know which way it would change, but that'd be my guess.
    -Mike

Comment

Originally posted by EFK View Post
      If you took a reading w/ an extech lcr meter (series, 120Hz,) and the pickup was 8.12 K and 4.84 H, then you make a simple change (not coil windings) and it reads 8.33K and 5.625 H, how would you *in general* expect the sound to be affected?
      The new sound will have less treble. More Henries == less treble.

Sounds like you added more steel to the magnetic circuit.

The AC resistance reported by the ExTech may indicate more eddy currents
      but no one can say until we know more about the pickup design.

What is the DC resistance reported by an ordinary meter?

-drh
      "Det var helt Texas" is written Nowegian meaning "that's totally Texas." When spoken, it means "that's crazy."

Comment

Typically a higher inductance will create a darker sound with less highs and a lower inductance will sound brighter.
        Roadhouse Pickups

Comment

Well you're reading at 120Hz you're down in the bass range so it means your bass clarity got more muddy. INductance shouldn't be the only thing you look at, yes generally the higher the inductance the darker the tone is, but also when you put a baseplate on a tele bridge or a P90 or a humbucker the inductance will DROP, but the AC resistance will go up...