Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Request : Troubleshooting Flow Chart

Hey guys,
    I've been lurking here for a while and am enjoying the forum. Looks like a great community with lots of good info flying around. I am currently trying to get started with some light guitar & amp repair work,. (pickups, switches,. cleaning pots,. retubing,. ect,.) I have some background with electrical work doing low voltage systems (alarm, cctv, proaudio) but still have a ways to go before I hit my goals with electronics theory and practical knowledge. That being said one thing I think would be really helpful If one of our more experienced members would like to provide is a troubleshooting flow chart of some sort. Specifically for solid state amps,. for some reason they seem more complicated to me than tube amps. But I would also be interested in a non-specific amp troubleshooting flow chart as well. I've already done some searching on this forum and the internet in general and havn't found anything close to comprehensive.

Thanks in advance,.
    Dan

Well, go over to RG's Geofex site, he has a fine troubleshooting list there.

To me troubleshooting is a universal skill, and doesn;t really matter so much what technology you are using. For example, if a unit blows its main fuse, my first thought is output devices. Could be tubes or transistors, but they are still the things that ultimately wield the powr. Then powr supply rectifiers or filter caps could be shorted.