No announcement yet.

Amp repairs anywhere near Cheyenne, WY?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp repairs anywhere near Cheyenne, WY?

Hey, I'm a newbie referred from the unofficial acoustic control corp forum.

Here's my story:

My dad picked up an acoustic G60T guitar head and a 464 cab for himself off Ebay. The speaker in the cab is an old Jensen. At any rate, it arrived with a cracked speaker cone, creating a superbuzz on the low frequencies. The mid to upper range tones still sound nice, though not as nice as my dad's G60t combo (all original but the tubes).

Also, the distortion pot on the head has been destroyed. You get a pretty hilarious squeal when you turn it to anything but zero. Would work great if we were into experimental electronic music from the sixties. Will that require a vintage knob, or are there newer replacements available?

Cheyenne, Wyoming is not the place to find instruments, let alone repair shops. We were hoping to find somebody within about 100 miles (Denver, for example) if anybody knows of a reputable repair guy (or gal) in this area.

Thanks,

Amber

Think of it as two separate repairs. One is the torn speaker. You would take the wires off it, noting which went where, and send the speaker to a reconer. If you can send and receive via UPS where you live, then it doesn;t matter where the reconer might be. Bruce knows your part of the world a lot better than I.

Second is the amp chassis repair. if there is no one in your area competent, then send the amp chassis out of town. Once you are doing that, the shop can be anywhere.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Well, currently, I've taken apart the amp. It looks like someone did a crappy patch job to bypass something called a Vactec Vactrol VTL9A10/2. I'm going to snip the patch wire, put the thing back together and test it out.