Electrolytic caps useful life?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrolytic caps useful life?

1) Should one just assume that original caps in a '70s Fender are too old and should be replaced, or do I only need to replace them if the amp exhibits problems?

2) I have read some things about re-forming caps. It's not unusual for some of my Fender amps to go unused for a couple of years or more. Should I go through a cap re-forming process before sing one of them?
    Last edited by Groover; 02-17-2009, 07:58 PM. Reason: additional question

RE electroltics + I had a question on cap forming as well...

I am an old tech guy but tube amp newbie (experts please correct me if I am wrong). From all I've read electrolytics of that age are way past due for replacement, especially the filter caps in the dog house (Fenders).

I am also working on a refurb of an old SF Twin and am waiting on my caps from Mouser. The other day I was at a Guitar show and got to talking with an amp tech with lots of experience or so he said. He strongly warned me to not power up the amp after swapping the electrolytics without using a Variac or equivelent device as they would fail early. Is this true?

Thanks again for all the great info on this site.

Pete

Comment

Hi,
      to re-form a cap you need bring up the voltage and current up slowly. Idealy you should bring it up to spec over a few hours with a variac whilst monitoring the current, voltage, capacitence and power factor of the cap. Realisticly, not everyone has this equipment. You could use a light bulb limiter (a light bulb wired in series with the live conductor of the power cord) to limit the current ect.

Dave.

Comment

form new caps?

Do new electrolytics (ie new modern as opposed to new old stock) need to be formed? It seems to me that I have seen some yeses and some nos.

Comment

No.

Comment