Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Champ 5F1 with vibrato

Hi all,
    I am building a 5F1 Champ for my nephew and he'd like to have a vibrato in it. Could I just add a new 12AX7, wire up a vibrato section as on Vibro Champ and connect it at the same spot (pin 8 on first 12AX7), or should I look for another vibrato circuit? Please let me know if it's possible, I see that 5F1 and Vibro Champ have their cathodes and NFB wired a bit different.
    Thanks,
    Dinko

I'd go for the vibro champ circuit from the wiper of the vol pot on.
    That way you could leave everything before the volume pot just like in a 5F1 and hence get the tone from it's preamp.

Comment

Thanks for reply.
      If I understand correctly, you mean there's another Champ vibrato circuit apart from BF Vibro Champ? Do I just connect the wiper of the volume pot to the input lug of intensity pot?
      I am still a bit of a noob, so I don't quite get it, so please could you give me more detailed explanation?
      Thanks.

Comment

The 5F1 has two preamp triodes (one tube = two triodes).
        The vol pots wiper leads to the second triodes grid.
        Same applies to the vibro champ circuit (AA764).
        Before the vol pot you use the circuit of the 5f1. After the vol pot you use the circuit of the AA764. That should work out fine.

Hope this helps

Matt
        Attached Files
        Last edited by txstrat; 02-20-2009, 01:11 PM. Reason: Added schematic

Comment

OK, thanks, I think I get it now.

Comment

If you are making a 5F1 with tremolo, why not make a 5F2A with a BF vibro-champ style tremolo (for the price of another pot and two caps)? That way you will have some way of adjusting the tone, which might be affected by the tremolo when you hit the trem footswitch.
            Building a better world (one tube amp at a time)

"I have never had to invoke a formula to fight oscillation in a guitar amp."- Enzo

Comment

Originally posted by tubeswell View Post