Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multimeter Advice......

Hey Folks,

I am looking to get a multimeter, and would appreciate some recommendations of what to look for.
    I have never used on before, and am looking to get into working and understanding guitar and amp electronics.
    So far i have picked up a Hakko soldering iron, and will be picking up hand tools as needed. I have some of the basics already.
    I believe investing in a quality iron was a good choice, and am now looking to do the same with a multimeter.

What do i need in a multimeter for guitar and amp/speaker cab work ??

Any recomendations, and why ??
    I'll most likely be buying used off ebay, since i cannot find anything in Toronto......damn box stores and knock off markets !!!!
    There is one pro tool place i know of...the only place that knew what a hand reamer was for wood working. I'll check there sometime, but the price would be over me most likely.

hope yer all having a fine day, thank you kindly for your time.

- Amp Boy, ........ahhhh superman is no match for this wall of sound !!!

I'm a newbie to this tube amp stuff but fixed industrial size print presses for many years. I've been using a Fluke 179 MM for a long time and it seems to be doing the trick for my guitar amps as well. It even has a capacitance testing feature. From what I hear there is alot of specialized gear you could buy depending on your needs and how much $ you want to spend. I'm sure some of the pros on this site have good advise for you.
    Pete

Comment

The Fluke is nice (true RMS meter) also look at Agilent hand helds - if you can find them used - ePay or Craig's List - might even be affordable.

Comment