Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

One last decision: what type of board construction to go with?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One last decision: what type of board construction to go with?

So this first scratch build I'm attempting it basically a Marshall 2204 type of circuit (50W JCM800 if you will), but I'm adding a 4th preamp tube that will power a Twin-like channel. Both channels wil be joined at the PI and have their own inputs (allows to A/B with different pedals in the signal path).

I've never built a board before, I've always did projects with PCBs.

I have two choices:
    - Get a pre-built board from Metro or Ceriatone, then do the Twin channel on a small piece of perfboard
    - Do a complete turret board from scratch, layout and all

The 2nd option seems like the better one, but the whole layout part scares me a bit, and I don't have any turret-board building tools or experience (though it hardly seems like rocket science).

Maybe I'm just looking for some reassurance on the board designing and building process

Do a layout in a illustration program (Inkscape is free) and once you have that, drill and assemble. Take your time and pay attention to lead dressing and you should have it. I also advocate doing a prototype on wood with copper nails as the turrets. I've got a 4 gain stage VHT clone built up this way and it's helped me significantly realize some shortfalls in my initial layout. I used 3.5" poplar with copper nails from Lowe's.
    -Mike

Comment

Well since Marshall style builds are well documented, I guess I can simply duplicate an existing layout, then use an existing Twin-style layout to add that preamp channel to it. The rest is simply connecting all of this together.

Comment

That would be a good option. Using the simplest solution is usually the best.
        -Mike

Comment