Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5F2-A Power Supply questions

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum, and I would also add that I am very new to amp building; so I do hope you will excuse me if this topic has been covered before.

I have successfully built a small SE amp from a kit and am now planning a scratch build of a 5F2-A Princeton. I am having some problems establishing correct operating voltages for the tubes and am hoping some of you can confirm what they should be?

1. I believe the 6V6 needs to run with a plate voltage of around 350V to get ‘classic’ Princeton tone. Is this correct? I would also like to know if this is purely the voltage at the Anode, or is it the difference in voltage between Anode and Cathode?

2. I have no idea what the correct plate voltage should be for the 12AX7. Can anyone tell me please?

3. Here in the UK we don’t have the abundance of transformer suppliers that you have in the USA, but I have found a couple of potentially suitable Power Transformers that are readily available. One is a 275-0-275; the other is a 290-0-290. Bearing in mind I intend to use Solid State rectification, could someone please advise me on which of these two is the best to use in respect of getting the correct plate voltage on the 6V6?

Thanks in advance for any help that you can offer

Mike

325-350v on the 6V6's plate should be in the realm (or close enough).
    The 5F2 had somewhere around 300v on it's plate according to it's schematic.

You should aim for around 150v on the 12ax7's plates I'd say anywhere between 140-160v is pretty good.
    Both of those transformers will most likely give you too much voltage.

I've been using a Hammond 269JX, and that's about perfect for me in the states. Don't know if that helps you or not...

Comment