X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• anyone heard of a Dod 650?

Hi new here,

I recently re-discovered a board in my (small) collection & it says:

DOD 650. The only chip on the board says MC1741CP 7719.

If I remember it just boosted the signal.

tried to google but, not too much info.

Any information is helpful thanks!

1) A quick google indicates that the 650 was a "mini-amplifier", so I'm thinking some sort of headphone amp, OR possible a booster.

2) The MC1741CP is simply a plain vanilla 741 op-amp (8-pin, right?) Are there any transistors on the board?

Comment

Mark Hammer! it's an honor to have you reply to my question! thank you!

I found the "mini-amplfier" thing too. maybe a booster? it was housed in the ol'
      mxr box but, years ago I took the paint off the box..

yes, 8 pins & (forgive me I'm a novice) I don't see any transistors. 7 resistors, 2 more that appear gerainum, 2 disc caps, 2 light blue little cans (caps right?) & one flat green
      (cap?) & 2 pots. -- so that's 9 resistors, 5 caps & a 741 op-amp.

any more help is appreciated!

Comment

Go here http://filters.muziq.be/model/dod/first and take a look through the various DOD pedals listed, especially the pics of the boards.

In the absence of any additional transistors (something I might expect if the 741 was essentially providing a little boost prior to a pair of transistors kicking the signal up to earphone levels), the chances are good this was some sort of successor to the DOD 250 ( http://filters.muziq.be/model/dod/first/250 ).

And while we're at it, any chance that the "650" might actually be a "250" that has been worn down in ways that could lead the eye to treat a 2 as a 6? I ask because the list of components you provide is VERY similar to what's found on a 250.

Comment

I checked the links. maybe that's the guts of the next generation 250 (the yellow one)? and maybe I have the 1st generation 250?