Opinions on availible parts wanted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on availible parts wanted

As I'm still no expert on pickup winding, having done some 40 odd pickups, I obviously have much more to learn. Because of that I have a question that I would like to ask regarding HB parts and suppliers of those.

I think that I by now have a pretty good perception of how the magnet (type and strength), base plate (material) and Wire (type and winding pattern) affect the tone. Oh, and the covers. But I still have to learn a bit more about the other parts. Or more specific; who makes good parts and how do they sound. I don’t have the possibility to do like some guys on this board that makes all their parts them self (or buy bulk from their personal specs). I would like to find ready made parts with specific characteristics and I would like to get some help finding what I’m after (calm down, I will be more specific in a second).

What I would like to do is to make up some type of “reference list” on parts and their impact on the sound. I have searched the forum and seen notes like “StewMacs screws are bright” and “Mojo screws are dark sounding”. Are these only random personal opinions or are there any consensus on readily available parts from suppliers and what they do to the sound. I’m looking for sources for, let’s say, bright vs. dark sounding screws, slugs and keeper bars.

I know that all I probably will get is just opinions. But hey, your opinions might at least get me a starting direction for some parts to try out.

And as it also seems that there are only a few suppliers for parts a similar reference list like who actually makes what parts available through what channel sounds like something we could pin on top of the forum…

Hey Peter,