Gibson GA40 RVT Cutting Out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gibson GA40 RVT Cutting Out

Hello, this is my first post on this forum but any help would be greatly appreciated.

I purchased one of those new Gibson GA40 RVT amps about a year ago and have had no problems with it until now. However, the amp has started to cut out and lose any volume after about 20 minutes of playing, then come back in after a few seconds with a loud hum and tremolo on, then go right back to normal, only to start the whole cycle over again after a few minutes time. It sounds as if something is on the verge of failing, but I am no expert and therefore cannot be certain this is the case.

The repair shop Gibson has listed in my area has a reputation of shoddy workmanship, and if at all possible I would like to avoid them, but in the end I will most likely have to take the amp in to them.

I was wondering if anybody has any clue as to what may be causing this, or if anybody has had a similar problem. I can read schematics so any help zeroing in on what the problem might be will help me in making sure it is fixed correctly.

I have attached a schematic for the amp that was listed in another thread in this forum.

I know not a lot of people have this amp but any clue as to the likely culprit would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You.
    Attached Files

Originally posted by daradaramike3 View Post
    Hello, this is my first post on this forum but any help would be greatly appreciated.

I purchased one of those new Gibson GA40 RVT amps about a year ago and have had no problems with it until now. However, the amp has started to cut out and lose any volume after about 20 minutes of playing, then come back in after a few seconds with a loud hum and tremolo on, then go right back to normal, only to start the whole cycle over again after a few minutes time. It sounds as if something is on the verge of failing, but I am no expert and therefore cannot be certain this is the case.