Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi there...and wiring problem/dilemma

Hi there

looking forward to learning from you all. I'm new to electronics and am working my way through a basic workbook just now. I have a bit of a problem just now.

I live in the UK and have a dbx 160x compressor (made in Japan) which I bought set at 115v with a US Type A, Unpolarised plug attached. In a US manual, it advised UK users who wished to change to UK plugs that it was wored Blue:Neutral and Brown:Live etc. Also stating that the plug required a 3 Amp fuse. Straight forward enough I thought. Therefore, I switched the unit to 230v and cut off the plug with the intention of putting a Uk plug on it.

However, on cutting the US Type A, Unpolarised plug off the cable which is a two cable conjoined cable (kinda like headphone wire), I found out that this outer layer was the only thing covering the copper wire inside. Therefore, there are no colours there to wire correctly into a UK plug.

Would it matter which way around the two wires are wired into a UK plug? Wouldn't the transformer in the dbx detect which is Live and which is Neutral?

Kindest regards

R.

Transformers are passive in that they simple provide an output voltage that is a ratio from the input voltage. They cannot detect anything, including which end - if any - is hot or neutral.

I can;t find a rear view of the dbx160x. The 160A has a detachable power cord. Is your powr cord permanently attached? If so, I would think it wouldn;t matter which of the two wires is which. However, if your cord is detachable, unplug it from the IEC conector on the rear and grab a generic power cord from most anything that uses them.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Thank you for your reply Enzo

The cable I have is a permanent one and guess what???....The unit works just fine wired into a UK plug.