Contemplateing a Champ 5f1 build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Contemplateing a Champ 5f1 build

I'm not technically finished with my first "real" amp build (a PCB Firefly) but I have wanted to build a 5f1 for a couple years now and thought I should at least get the ball rolling. After looking around a bit I have decided to go with an eyelet board. I was looking at Watts Tube Audio and I think I'll just take the plunge and buy all the tools and raw materials to make my own. I have a fair idea what all this should cost, with the exception of the transformers; if I'm looking at some of the cheapest (I know) ones, what can I expect to pay?

Also, is this an overly ambitious undertaking? I can read schematics well, have built 30+ effects pedals, a couple SS amps and most of the AX84 Firefly on a PCB. I know a bit about how tubes work (I've incorporated some in effects) but I'm a bit of a stranger to high voltage amps. I would rather not build from a kit. Looking at the schematic and layout at schematic heaven, I think I know how to put it all together. I will also be making my own chassis.

Thanks!

It's hard to beat the prices at Weber VST.

https://taweber.powweb.com/store/magnetic.htm

I found this on ebay, never purchased from him but his feedback is 100%.

eBay Store - Musical Power Supplies: PP Output Transformers, SE Output Transformers, Tube Power Transformers

One of these might do the job for a PT and the price is good.

Allied Electronics - Catalog

WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
    REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment

Well, I've been shopping around and I ran into this, any good?
      Single Ended Transformer Bundle 5F1 5F2 Tweed Fender Champ Princeton
      I haven't heard much about triode electronics, anyone have any experiance with them?