Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello! Newbie here...

Hi all,
    I've bounced into this forum from time to time, but figured I'd become a member and formally introduce myself. I've been playing guitar for many years and like many am always trying to maintain what I percieve as perfect tone in my gibson guitars and tube amps. I'm playing mostly jazz nowadays but like a little of that hair sound on top of really compressed warm and mellow notes. Kinda Jim Hall type of thing.
    Anyway, I live in Hawaii and cannot find an amp tech that gives a darn. That "mostly" goes for just about everything here, but especially hunting down amp problems while trying to preserve that vintage amp sound. So, that is my only motivation, is the fact that I CANNOT take my amp to a good tech who cares. Believe me, I've tried many a time with sad results.
    My main question for today, is, can anyone point me in the right direction for reading schematics and making heads or tails of the connections and board layout. I've read some books and am familiar with basic amplifier service safety. I realize how slow things have to go, in order to troubleshoot safely and systematically.... but man, the schematics are mystifying me with regards to which resistors/caps are which etc... I've resorted to actually counting how many of a certain component there are and tracing the endless possibilities of connections and common connection points! Is that it, or is there a better way to learn and decipher? I'm really only interested on working on old Gibson Tube amps. I appreciate everyones input here on this forum.. Thanks, Siboney

Welcome to the forum Siboney!. I didn't know too much about reading schematics or troubleshooting problems either so I did exactly what you are doing, I asked lots of questions from forums like this one.