Frontman 25R - Mod it, or Ditch it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frontman 25R - Mod it, or Ditch it?

I've been playing guitar now for about 7 years. But it hasn't been until recently that I'm getting serious about it. I've had a Fender Frontman 25R for about 6 years now, and I use it for my Ibanez Acoustic/Electric as well as my Fender MIM Strat.

I'm just not satistifed with the quality and tone that the Frontman 25R anymore. I'm really looking for more of a bluesy sound. I've tested a handful of tube amps and really like the richness that they give.

My question is:
    Is there anything I can do to the Frontman 25R to better it's performance?
    (i.e. speaker upgrades, etc)

Also, here's a picture of my amp for reference
    Last edited by marlington; 06-04-2009, 03:37 PM. Reason: Adding Picture

a speaker upgrade would probably make quite a difference, but there would still be alot lacking i'd say. i had a fm212r (100w model, probably pretty similar with an extra channel reverb and more power). not too bad if you just want to play something loud enough but tone itnt great. its being used for vocals now.

Comment

The schematic can be found here: Fender Frontman 25R Guitar Amplifier Schematic

There are a lot of points for intervention, although little that would make it a) behave like a tube amp (if that's your taste), or b) behave like a higher-powered amp.