Acoustic 270 repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acoustic 270 repair

I have an Acoustic Control Corporation 270 in for repair and as I am really a valve amp technician I thought I'd run this past to see if I'm on the right track.

The amp turns on and initially there is sound but very distorted, after a few seconds this fades to no sound at all.

I have isolated the fault to the power amp board (which I believe is the same as the 370, which is the schematic I'm using, acoustic control corporation : les amplis basse et guitare and http://acoustic.control.free.fr/file...chematics2.pdf). The line outputs from the pre amp board work fine and the speakers (this is a 2x12 combo) work fine with a different amp.

I have measured the voltage at the + side of C404, at the output, and this increases at turn on to approximately 80 volts DC, in sync with the loss of sound so I am assuming it is related, instead of the 45 volts specified on the schematic.

My attempts to isolate the fault so far, are:

Lift the collectors of Q307, 308 and 309. No change to the voltage at C404.
    Lift the collectors of Q312, 313 and 314. No change to the voltage at C404.
    Lift the end of R322, where it joins L301. No change to the voltage at C404.

My next thoughts are C307, Q305 (I hope not as this is a 40409 and they are almost impossible to find) and Q306.

Initially I expected a shorted 2N3055 and I may yet pull them all and test them.

I feels to me as though a capacitor is charging up and cutting something off.

Any thoughts or prior experiences would be appreciated, thanks.

Hello Stosostu,
    My initial reaction to the 90v no matter what you do is that C404 is charging up & never getting discharged...so you're really just reading the charge on the cap.
    Were I you, I would first thing pull the power transistors & the drivers & check for shorts.