100ohm on Mission amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 100ohm on Mission amp

Hi, i am building a Mission amp 5E3 and there is a suggestion to put the 100ohm resistors on pins 2 - 8 and 7-8 instead of the way its shown on the orig drawing. I am new at this so i have re-drawn it and wondering if it makes sense the way i have it.

a

Hi angelodp

Bruce just means to use pin 8 as a handy anchor point for the ground side of the 100R artificial heater 'ground-reference' resistors (albeit that these are elevated to the 6V6 cathode voltage). Pin 8 isn't connected to anything on a 6V6, so that socket pin is available as a spare terminal lug.

The way you have drawn it will work also. It's just that Bruce's idea is probably tidier-looking once its done
    Building a better world (one tube amp at a time)

"I have never had to invoke a formula to fight oscillation in a guitar amp."- Enzo

Comment

Pic

I was simply trying to establish a layout for the pic that Bruce sent. He includes this pic which does not match the layout, so I went ahead and redrew the layout to check things. I know there are many ways to do circuits and so i am just double checking that I have it correct.

Comment

I am currently building a Mission kit and am wondering what these 2 resistors do. They are not in the original 5E3 layout. Do they change the tone, decrease hum, etc?

Comment

Originally posted by scottb1966 View Post
          I am currently building a Mission kit and am wondering what these 2 resistors do. They are not in the original 5E3 layout. Do they change the tone, decrease hum, etc?