Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Troubleshooting help? mojo 5E3 buzz on low notes

Hi,

Sorry for all the posts and a new thread. I thought i had my problem solved but its returned and it doesnt relate at all to the title of my other thread, so hopefully its okay to start a new one with a more accurate title descritption.

I'm hoping you guys can offer some troubleshooting suggestions for my Mojo 5E3 tweed deluxe kit amp. I am new to this so bear with me if you will.

Heres the problem:
    On low notes I get a low level buzzing, almost radio static like fuzz after the note. It will also make this noise at the tail end of chords that are held for a few seconds. The amp does not need to warm up to exhibit this behavior.
    High notes are clear as a bell. The signal is strong and the amp sounds absolutely gorgeous except for this unwanted hissy buzz on low notes. Its not vibration in the room, its definetly coming from the amp. The amp seems well grounded and is silent with nothing plugged in. It is not noisey while playing except of course for the problem mentioned.

Heres what I have tried thus far:
    Tapping on the tubes or chassis does not affect this behavior. Changing preamp tubes with a known working one did not affect this behavior. I have not yet tried swapping power or rectifier tubes as i do not have any to try. I have not yet tried it with another speaker but will do so tonight. I have tried it with another guitar and with another cable and there was no change in this behavior. I opened it up, drained the caps and inspected my soldering. I inspected the soldering on my tube sockets also and couldnt see anything amiss. nothing loks blown, there is no evidence of arcing or burning or anything obviously loose. B+ voltage was measured and tho i cannot remember the number my friend told me it was in the correct range.

Heres the history: