Winds To Resistance Formula?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Winds To Resistance Formula?

Hi guys. I am new to the pickup building game. I am curious if there is a standard formula where x winds of y wire = z resistance. For example, does 7000 winds of 42 AWG wire always = 8k? Not that it would = 8k, but does it always equal some amount? Do I need to just wind 1000 winds of each wire I use, then check the ohms. Then take that ratio and use it to figure out the amount of winds I need to get desired resistance? I imagine I would need to do this with each magnet type I want to use and make sure they are fully charged before running my tests.

What do you guys with way more experience think?
    Wimsatt Instruments

The ammount of tension you put on the wire changes the resistance slight, but if you want to have a rough estimte then use Zieglers Calculator

http://pickups.myonlinesite.com/serial.php

I had to tweak the resistance slightly as I wind really tightly but after I did it worked perfectly.

Comment

Don't worry about the resistance at all. I just wind by turn count. I check the resistance when I'm done to make sure there wasn't a short, but I never wind to a certain resistance.

The resistance is a product of the length of the coil and the diameter of the wire. So you can do 5,000 turns with different bobbins and wire gauge and get different readings. Higher tension stretches the wire which then reduces the diameter.
      It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
      www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment