X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inductance w/wo pole pieces

Hello, I'm a newb for one day ... please take advantage of me

so I got these two pressing questions to ask :

(i) has anybody by chance measured their strat style PU's with and without the pole pieces to see what the inductance variation might be ??

I'm very curious about this, I want to wind a dummy coil (w/o pole pieces) that matches the inductance of a stock PU. I would suspect the inductance is slightly less w/o poles - question is by how much ?

(ii) anybody know what technique is used in Lemme's PU Analyser to drive signal into the PU under test ??

HTML Code:
    http://buildyourguitar.com/resources/lemme/
    cheers, KT-man

A coil with no core would have a lower inductance.
    Your best bet might be to use uncharged alnico slugs, but using steel slugs would probably be close enough.
    It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
    www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment

thanks, was thinking of using iron but was wondering just the same ... how about that PU analyser, anybody use one ??

Comment

analyzer

I emailed Lemme a couple years ago no response. Really, its a cool toy but ultimately of dubious value, have no idea what it costs or if he even makes them anymore. For a drive coil use a bucker bobbin, NO core and wind to about 30-50ohms with heavy gauge wire like 38 or so to get a big coil. If you ever hear from Lemme let me know, maybe he doesn't speak english though most germans do....
        http://www.SDpickups.com
        Stephens Design Pickups

Comment

Originally posted by Possum View Post