Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT? vibrochamp..newb help please?

Hello Everyone!

I'm a relative newb to amps. My only experience is buildig a mojo tweed deluxe kit (whic I want to marry and have children with). A friend has showed me how to safely drain caps.

I will get right to the main question and then explain the problem:
    Is there a simple way to test an OT for failure without buying additonal parts?
    as in... is there a way with my DMM to test it?

Heres whats going on. I bought a 73 vibrochamp. Cool little amp! played well for a couple days. I cranked it often. Then a couple days ago i had it on 10 and stepped on a dod buzzbox. The buzzbox is a horrible noise making effect. It sounds like your amp is breaking when you step on it. Well... I stepped on it and it sounded like my amp was breaking as usual...but then the amp DID break. haha. It just cut out dead silent, no hiss hum no nothing. can a pedal kill an amp? sure seemed that way but maybe its a coincidence? can the combo of an amp on ten and a super noisey pedal kill an amp?

anyway, changed tubes, all of em. No joy. Changed speaker. No joy. Open chassis and poked around the live amp with a chopstick. No Joy. No loose connections, nothing obviously exploded. No burnt smell, tho the amp did come from a smoking home and smells like an ashtray oto the max so its hard to tell. Voltages read good at caps. speaker connection checked well. guitar and chords etc all swapped out.

so Im thinking blown OT?so again...easy way to test it?
    how do I choose a replacement OT?
    The number codes o the back are :022905 and next line reads 606-3-01

heres some pics of the transformer and where it connects inside the amp.