X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first pickup and MK1 pickup winder

Hello all

Newbie here!

I have been making guitars, taking them apart, fixing them and playing in a band for about 30 years now. Thought it was about time I would make a pickup. I made my first one a P90 style thingy with an electric power drill, started with a very old sewing machine, but motor burned out first attempt. (The stitching spacing was quite wide, also the cotton kept getting caught in the needle!)
    After 5 goes at it I had a working pickup, I was now officially hooked! (image below) I made fit rom an old strat 3 ply scratchplate, I used 6 Alnico magnet instead of the way a ‘normal’ P90 is with a bar magnet underneath.
    Ok, i admit its not a P90 just a big strat pickup, but it has to fit in a humbucker space.

Next on the menu.................
    Decided i would make a pickup winder, as you can see from the photos i took the pedal and switch gear from the sewing machine, a 1/25th horse power electric motor, taken from a home made sanding machine that my father made years ago and the case was from a 1970s crazy type of kitchen air freshener (again made by my father, he had a shop and sold weird inventions he made, think I’m heading the same way!). I tried the motor from the air freshener because it had a small variac in it but the motor was not strong enough.

I have only tried it once and that was rewinding a squier tele pickup, i need to buy some more wire (and magnets, bobbins, beer, chocolate and nuts).
    Good thing about it is that it has spindles on both sides, great for reverse winding, just take off the bobbin plate and push it on the other side.
    It works very well and is nice a quiet.

I have plans (in my head) for the MK2 version. Have a motor with a gear box (better for slow speed startup I’ve found). Working on ideas for a counter with reed switch and step counter. It will be much bigger and dafter.

I have a website which has my progress so far.