1940's Silvertone phono conversion?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1940's Silvertone phono conversion?

I recently found an old Silvertone phonograph and have become intrigued by the possibility of converting its tiny tube amp into a guitar amp. Compared to those who frequent this forum, however, I am a total beginner. I once followed step-by-step instructions to replace the OT and caps on my Kalamazoo, but I probably have just enough knowledge to be dangerous…

The only transformer in sight is attached to the speaker itself. Its tubes include 35W4, 50C5, and 12AV6. It powers up – all 3 tubes glow – but generates a loud hum that is unaffected by the volume control. When I tested the input with an ipod, I could faintly hear the distorted signal underneath the hum. Questions:

1) Is this thing worth messing with, and do I stand any chance of fixing it without someone having to spoon feed me every step of the way?

2) If the answer to #1 is affirmative, would replacing that can capacitor with individual caps be a good place to start?

3) What’s the point of the transformer being attached to the speaker? Does it have to be located in immediate proximity to the speaker like this, or can I remove it from that stock speaker and incorporate it into an amp enclosure so I can use this amp with another speaker?

This seems like an appealing project, but I want to be realistic.
    Any suggestions/advice would be most appreciated...