Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No sound from Marshall MG50dfx

Hi all,
    Noob here, hoping for some (a lot of) help with a Marshall amp.
    Long story, friends amp used for gigs = no problem.
    Suddenly it stops working, lights come on and fan operates but no sound whatsoever.
    Friend approaches me to ask if i can fix it? WTF?
    After listening to symptoms i suggest it sounds like simple problem and advise him to open the case up,
    look for blown fuse/s loose speaker connections and/or anything obviously dislodged or broken.
    A few months later i meet him again and he says do you want that amp before i throw it in the trash?, Hell Yeah?
    Sooo, after following my own advice and checking the amp i found nothing obvious.
    In fact, the inside of the amp is very clean and tidy.
    I looked at each resistor and capacitor closely for bulges, leaks, burns, loose connections etc, but they all appear sound.
    I smelled the power input section and closely smelled the coil for burning smell, nothing so that’s also all good, as far as I can tell.
    I checked the speaker with my CD line out and it is working, np.
    There is no sound out through the head phones from the Marshall.
    I’d welcome any suggestions where to begin fault finding and hopefully get this amp working again, please.

Originally posted by upl8tr View Post
    I checked the speaker with my CD line out and it is working, np.
    Welcome to the place.

When you used your CD to check the speaker, did you connect it to the CD input on the amp or directly to the speaker terminals?

Also did you try and plug in a patch cord from the FX loop out to the FX loop return jack?

Comment

Hi there, thanks for the reply.

When I tested the speaker I used a patch cord (male to female) from the head phone socket on my CD player straight onto the jack plug from the Marshall's Speaker, no amp involvement at all.