which amp for classical pianist?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which amp for classical pianist?

Hi! I am a classical pianist using electric keyboard and am going to play in restaurants, Weddings. What brand and model do you recommend for this purpose? As the one I have (Behringer) is only a 15Kw amp and has very weak, low sound. I need something which produces clean not too low sounds without distortion. And also what is suitable to fill in a bigger hall.
    I am also playing in a progressive rock band, but I think for that music too I need clean sounds.

I've played with a keyboardist a couple times now in a hard driving blues band who uses this $600 Roland Keyboard amp.
    It seemed to fit the bill very well ...and with plenty of reserve too.
    Plus, when doing a little Jazz trio, it was used as the single vocal PA with the keyboards!!

Buy Roland KC-550 180W Keyboard Amp | Keyboard Amplifiers & Monitors | Musician's Friend

or this one appears to be pretty good at less money

http://keyboards-midi.musiciansfrien...Amp?sku=480783
    Bruce

Mission Amps
    Denver, CO. 80022
    www.missionamps.com
    303-955-2412

Comment

Being a keyboardist who loves tube amps, there is a bit of disconnect. For most live situations, I find a powered PA speaker is more useful than the typical Roland Keyboard amp. I can't seem to get a flat response for piano out of one. The advantage of a keyboard amp is the mini mixer it has for when you run multiple boards or two pianists. A JBL EON has enough power and can be used as a monitor as well as placed on a speaker stand.

I tend to use tube amps on keyboards for recording only. For instance, Wurtlizer EP into a champ sounds great. Leslie speakers sound great, but in a gig the wonderful quality of the sound never gets to the audience so if you can live with it, so can they.

Comment

thank you, I will check them out, but probably Behringer would be the winner as I don't have that much money...

Comment