Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Amp build (5E3)

Hi All,
    I've been snooping around all the forums for a few months now.
    seems you all convinced me i needed a 5E3!

I've build it all from scratch, The wood work is rather average as I haven't touched a saw or chisel for quite a few years!
    The amp its self is (at this stage) stock, with the exception of the Rectifier tube is a Gz-34s.
    V1 and V2 are both JJ ecc83s and the power tubes are JJ 6v6s.
    The speaker is a Jensen C12N.

The chassis was bent up from 16 gauge aluminium. Im still trying to figure out a way to label the face plate!(any ideas VERY welcome!)

I'm still waiting on a few capacitors to arrive are very open to any suggestion on how to improve or make this amp better!

Dan
    Attached Files
    Last edited by danielarimcaulay; 09-11-2009, 01:12 AM.

Originally posted by danielarimcaulay View Post
    I'm still waiting on a few capacitors to arrive are very open to any suggestion on how to improve or make this amp better!
    Well, since we're waiting on capacitors we don't know that it needs to be altered to be better yet.

There are A LOT of mods for the 5E3. Our own resident 5E3 expert, Beuce Collins, has pioneered many of them. So if you don't like it when it's finished, your in the right place.

Chuck

P.S. The cabinet and chassis look great. "I" like the hand cut dovetail/finger joint look.
    Last edited by Chuck H; 09-11-2009, 08:51 PM.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

Really good looking build!

would like to see a gut shot of your wiring.