Problem with my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

I am a newbie here, I have a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe and for some reason I have lost almost all of its power. Meaning in both cannel I have the volumes maxed and it is hardly hearable. I first replaced all of the tubes (Pre & Power) and it did not correct the problem. I then feared it may've been a blown output tranny I had one from another fender amp that was good- I put it in and still did not correct the issue. So I probed the board looking for anything out of the ordinary. The heat coming off of the 2 ceramic resistors was extreme even at first turning on. I noticed on the backside of the board where the solder is a big burn area in around the super hot resistors. Then I checked one of the diodes and that appeared blown; so I replaced that thinking it may solve my problem. No luck! I am really getting frustrated with this amp. Now the channels will not even switch! Any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated! Uggh! Thanks!

Welcome.

Originally posted by guitkrazy View Post
    Then I checked one of the diodes and that appeared blown; so I replaced that thinking it may solve my problem. No luck! I am really getting frustrated with this amp. Now the channels will not even switch!
    How did you check the diode?

Whatever was wrong with your amp, now the low voltage supplies also need to be checked.

Double check everything that you have changed and make sure that you correctly replaced the diode and the output transformer.

On the output side of the two large power resistors you should have + and - 15 volts dc. Do you have these voltages?

Comment

Originally posted by 52 Bill View Post
      Welcome.

How did you check the diode?

Whatever was wrong with your amp, now the low voltage supplies also need to be checked.