Bogen CHB14A conversion help needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bogen CHB14A conversion help needed

Hello everyone! This is my first post, and ... first amp conversion. I have built one amp kit so far (a Weber 6o100), and also, one clone amp from schematics online ( a JMP MV 100watter)... just to give you an idea of where I stand.

I know some things about building amps, and know how to follow a layout / schematics... but do not really "understand" how/why things work yet... I'm still learning.

Anyway... I came across a BOGEN CHB14A amp today, and would love to turn it into a Marshall style amp...

I would love any advice or insight that some of your members may have with helping a newbie make this conversion... Please keep in mind my skill level, and bear with me with any "stupid" questions I may have.

Thanks so much for reading this, and taking the time to help me learn about this great hobby.

Cheers from Portland, OR.

Billy

Welcome Billy, I'm not one of the experts here I'm one of the students. I converted a Bogen MX30A about ten years ago and what I wanted was a clean and a dirty channel. So I looked up schematics and built 2 channels one from a black face Fender, and one a JCM800. I lucked out and got the sound I was looking for. I'll share some of the mistakes. The MX series had what I thought was a perfect place to put the input jacks until I heard the hum. I had them mounted next to the transformers.(stop that laughing guys) I learned why latout is so important. I kept the Power amp the same but I replaced all the caps.