Reverse Engineering a Farfisa F/AR Power Supply/Reverb Unit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reverse Engineering a Farfisa F/AR Power Supply/Reverb Unit

I recently made the dubious decision to buy a Farfisa Compact Duo in non-working condition for restoration. I'm a keyboard tech, but I'd never worked on or played a Farfisa, so this was part curiosity. The price was right at $150. That may seem like a deal, but when you consider the hours it took to get the thing working again, it evens out. To add to the fun, this is the first version of the Compact Duo, and no complete schematic is known to exist for it. (And, yes, I'm a member of the Yahoo Combo Organ group.) Though they look a lot alike, the two versions are fairly different under the hood, much more so than, say a Hammond B-2 and B-3.

In an apparent attempt to get people to buy their amplifiers--and perhaps to save weight (or copy the Hammond BV), the Compact Duo gets its power supply via an umbilical connector from either a Farfisa combo amp or an outboard power supply, the F/AR, that also contains the final line out stage and spring reverb. The problem is that these sometimes get separated from the organ, which is the case with mine. Jerry-rigging a power supply isn't difficult, but I'd like to have the sound as vintage-original as possible.

But the only lead I've found on an F/AR unit is one someone wants $200 for--one not positively known to be in working order and with part of the case replaced with a piece of sheet metal. This sounds like the point of diminishing returns to me.