Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I need a 15" bass speaker...any suggestions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need a 15" bass speaker...any suggestions?

Howdy all!

This is my first post.

I started playing bass in gigging a band a couple of years ago. I was a guitar player before that & used mostly combo amps...just plug in & play. I never really got into electronics..so I know little about such things. Please excuse my ignorance!

For gigs, I either use the another bands bass rig (pot luck), or my Ampeg

BA-115...which has no balls. My band is pretty loud...two guitars cranking

through Fender Pro Reverbs, and especially live, my drummer can't keep his

sticks off of the cymbals...a cacophony of sound. I need something to cut

through this racket, so I picked up an Acoustic 470 head which I hear is

plenty loud.

I have a ported MusicMan cab which needs a 15" speaker & am not sure

which to get.

There is no ohm selector on the amp, so I'm not sure which ohm speaker to buy. I did get this bit of info from Harmony Central...

"How about this little known fact...the 470 has to ability to run ANY ohm speakers for 2 up to 16 without, I repeat WITHOUT any changes, no flipping switches or anything."

What ohm speaker should I use? Brand? Magnet size?

Also, I don't want to break the bank if I don't have to.

Any suggestions out there?

Here's my bands Myspace page if you want to get an idea what we sound like...

The Beat Rats on MySpace Music - Free Streaming MP3s, Pictures & Music Downloads

Thanks much, Tony

Hi Tony

Warehouse Guitar Speakers do a nice 15" driver, and Eminence also have a wide selection. If you look in their catalog, it'll say, "suitable for bass guitar" and so on. Here's an example:

15" Bass Guitar Speakers - Eminence CB15 15" Bass Speaker - Eminence Legend CB15 is a 15" bass guitar speaker. The Eminence Legend CB15 is a great upgrade or replacement 15" bass speaker for bass guitar cabinets.