Fender Electric XII pu

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender Electric XII pu

Hi, I was wondering if anyone had any info on the pu's on a Fender Electric XII.
    I know they are available from a pu maker ( probably the cheapest route )...but I was thinking about winding my own.I've seen a few pics..with the extra long poles and I read this:
    EX II 42 wire guage
    Plain enamel wire
    12500 turns.
    Can anyone point me in the right direction( any kind of info)... I need some covers as well...Thanks Mike

Just wanted to say first of all how incredibly inspiring this site is..there's so much info and a really nice vibe,,,thanks.
    Now to business heres a pic of the little monkey

and this is my interpretation of the flatwork

A couple of questions as I am a complete beginner :
    Why are the magnets longer ?
    In split coil designs is there anything special to think about ( polarity for example) or is it just two identical single coils.
    Thanks Mike.
    Last edited by ShepBush; 10-17-2009, 07:14 PM.

Comment

Look almost like mandolin pickups -- minus one pole.

Comment

I would imagine that one of the two coils in one pickup pair is RWRP so that one "complete pickup" is humbucking.

I have no more info on those pickup, but I think that the 12500 turns sound a bit too much. I'm suspecting that the one making that statement added the turn count of both coils, meaning that each coil shoul have 6250 turns of wire. That will also sound a bit more Fender-ish than 12000+ turns on each coil.

Comment

Originally posted by Peter Naglitsch View Post
          I would imagine that one of the two coils in one pickup pair is RWRP so that one "complete pickup" is humbucking.
          Yes, just like a P bass. The magnets in one coil should be opposite polarity.